it’s the everyday things

Standard

The other day Jireh napped for close to 3 hours and I thought I was in heaven. For in those hours I was lying next to my husband in bed, aimlessly blog-bingeing, with nothing to rush or finish. I almost felt like I had no kids! (I love my Munchykins but I gotta admit, I really enjoy his nap times too!)

But just as soon as the thought of “heaven” appeared in my head, I was ashamed. Ashamed that something as small as this could count as heaven. And I was instantly reminded of this CS Lewis quote:

We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.

How much my appetite has diminished for heavenly things that I could be satisfied with baby naps and internet surfing! Not that these aren’t enjoyable, but something is surely amiss. My heart is not hungry for God and it definitely shows — in the everyday things.

This project must go on! It is a fight for life, abundant life, as Jesus promised and only Jesus can give.

5 responses »

  1. Hello, I hope it’s not too alarming/weird to drop by like this, but I really do feel like I should thank you for your blog posts…In many ways it has encouraged me to think about how we can reflect on things and events in Godly ways, use our time in constructive ways, how I can think about romantic relationships/marriage and particularly how I speak to friends and family – which like you’ve pointed out, should be done in love and gentleness because that is a mark of wisdom (James 3:17-18). In so many ways, thank you and thank God for that, and please do keep blogging! I hope Jireh is recovering from his earlier ailment with the lymph nodes and all..and with this realization that we can submit everything to God’s loving wisdom and plans I hope you and your family continue to be blessed in your ministry and that your wisdom and commitment to God as our First Love will increase by His blessings (:

    • Hey Candice, no it’s not alarming or weird 🙂 It’s very encouraging actually! And I am thankful that you have been encouraged to think about life in God’s world more carefully. How did you come across my blog?

      Oh Jireh’s recovered well! Thanks so much for the well wishes and prayers. He’s turning 4 months old tomorrow! 🙂

      • Hello again! A friend showed your blog to me(I don’t know how he found it) when I was contemplating relationships a long while ago! It’s great to know that Jireh has recovered! 😀

Leave a Reply

