my answer today is Yes.

Standard

The hymn we sang today goes:

I cannot tell how silently He suffered,
  As with His peace He graced this place of tears,
Or how His heart upon the Cross was broken,
  The crown of pain to three and thirty years.
But this I know, He heals the broken-hearted,
  And stays our sin, and calms our lurking fear,
And lifts the burden from the heavy laden,
  For yet the Savior, Savior of the world, is here.

I had the epiphany that it does not take a person to feel comforted now to have the assurance of God’s comfort for the future. Because I was feeling so weary in the last few weeks of pregnancy, a friend warned me about post-natal depression. She kindly gave me permission to tell her if I should feel in any way depressed, because it can be so hard for a Christian mum to talk about it honestly.

I don’t have PND but the mood swings force me to ask the same question of myself: Can I really be a God-trusting Christian if I feel so sad? My answer today is yes. (I suppose I have lots to unpack in my answer but why don’t we for now just sit and wonder at the possibility of Yes.)

Leave a Reply

