I am a sewer rat in need of God’s help

Standard

For the past few days I have been feeling like a sewer rat (and not of the sinseh type). My thoughts and feelings were angsty, nonsensical and completely misanthropic. In short, I had a stinking attitude! And I blamed it all on my backache. 

But 1 Corinthians 10:13 says, “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation, he will also provide a way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.” Based on this verse, I prayed yesterday that God will help me to bear all the backaches with patience, without complaining or grumbling.

Today I am feeling a lot more human. Even though I had roughly the same amount of sleep last night (ie. not much), I felt adequately rested this morning. And for my nap, I tried sleeping with all four of our pillows (two propping my back, one under my head and one more for hugging), which gave some relief to my mind-numbing backache. That leaves me with a ribcage pain which I am happy to indulge Hamlet with. 

Plus I actually read from 1 Timothy all the way through to the book of Hebrews before my nap! Then I vacuumed and mopped the baby’s room as well when I woke up. And I’m all showered and clean and just waiting for my dinner date with Graham now. Phew. 

Leave a Reply

