Two bright ideas!

Standard

Bright Idea #1:  Daily Reading Bible by Matthias Media

This book is, I trust, going to be a nifty tool in my confinement days and beyond.

The Daily Reading Bible packs a short passage daily with questions to help readers reflect on the meaning and application. I love that the full text of the daily passage is printed in the book so I won’t have to worry about multiple books. And my brain is definitely gonna need help applying the passage to myself so the questions are great!

Even so, I’d be very realistic: some days I will celebrate just being able to read the passage and attempt one question; others, I will be glad just to know that I can try again tomorrow.

Many devotionals are nothing more than a personal diary of the author’s reflections and some are not even biblical. I choose this because it gets the reader to think about the passage for himself, find out the meaning of God’s word and apply it to his life through prayers and practice — just what Bible reading should be about.

Bright Idea #2 Memorise 2 Peter in about 60 days

Going at the rate of one verse a day, and allowing for some slack, I can hopefully finish memorising the book before the baby pops! Besides the time factor, it’s also my first attempt at memorising an entire book, so a short book is good.

The thought of being cut off from God’s word because of fatigue or busyness has urged me to take “hiding God’s word in my heart” seriously. Just think of the freedom I would have to meditate on His word when I’ve memorised 2 Peter — I can do it anytime and anywhere!

Bright Idea #3 Jesus Christ saves the world by dying on the cross for our sins

I started off saying I have two bright ideas but the real original bright idea belongs to God.

For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

There is no glory in fastidiously reading and memorising the bible. The only real thing is to know Jesus better, this man who laid down his life for me so that I may live. So please pray with me that my understanding of the gospel would grow much richer and deeper!

One response »

  1. Pingback: when are you coming out, Hamlet? « Everyday

Leave a Reply

