what’s the fuss about handmade invites?

Standard

Never again will I make 300 invites by hand (or would I?) I could not have done it for the wedding without the help of an incredible group of friends!

Handcrafted invites and door gifts appealed to me for two reasons. The first is mass-produced stuff are boring and nice customised stuff comes at a hefty price. And I would rather spend money on food that people can eat and enjoy, than splurge on cards and gifts.

The second is connected to the book of Ephesians, which I was studying around the time I started thinking about wedding preparation. In it, I learned that the church is a heavenly gathering of believers around Christ.

When Paul exhorts the Ephesians to live holy lives, to build up one another as the body of Christ, it is based exactly on the fact that they are already gathered together around Christ. What will be consummated when Christ comes again has begun in our lives on earth when we turn to God in repentance and faith.

And somehow that convicted me about the importance of building relationships now with people in my church — getting to know them, seeking to encourage them, working to cultivate a relationship . Because I have entered and will be entering eternity with these people!

Part 2 tomorrow on how I made use of the opportunity wedding preparations offered to make new friends in church!

Leave a Reply

