praying for love, with knowledge and discernment

Standard

I have a devillish love for privacy and solitude like no other. Hospitality is practically my antithesis. Friendship is something I have to learn, fellowship almost an Olympian training. A day at Starbucks with a book is a dream; another person and it’s sweet; three is sort of trying, four is nearing frightful and five, I oughta call the policeman!

In my university hostel days when everyone kept an open door policy, mine was usually shut tight to mark off my sanctuary. Hence I consider the open door my first foray into hospitality at my new home. I really do have to will myself to eat, study, read in my living room with a wide open door. It sounds silly, but it marked something significant for me ha ha.

That is why only a love for God could compel me to love people by involving them in my life or having them in my house. It’s not the getting ready or cleaning up that puts me off as much as I simply have a very large craving for personal space. And I would rather selfishly enjoy my safe haven at home with Graham.

For this, I need God’s grace to remind myself introversion is not a hindrance to hospitality and a sociable personality is not a requirement! For extroverts need God’s help as much as we quiet ones do to serve others and not ourselves. We just express our self-centredness in different ways when we party away or hide at home to suit our own preferences.

My prayer for myself this morning comes from Philippians 1:9-11 ESV.

I pray that my love may abound more and more, with knowledge and all discernment, so that I may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.

The study notes comments about love plus knowledge and discernment so that “love would find expression in wise actions that would truly benefit others and glorify God.” I was delighted to find this prayer in Paul’s letter for knowing how to express my love properly is what I often find myself so short in!

Leave a Reply

