putting good advice to good use

Standard

One of the best advice I got about hospitality is this:

Try to make simple food that doesn’t take too much time to cook especially when you invite someone who can’t cook or not so good at cooking so they won’t feel intimidated and will dare to invite you back 😉

Well I certainly put it to good use for dinner last week. A whole menu of idiot-proof but still delicious food! And it also means more time spent talking with my guests than hustling up food in the kitchen.

Here’s a look at what I served:

  1. Filipino Sweet Macaroni Salad
  2. Tom Yum Chicken Wings
  3. Peach and Salmon Pizza
  4. Red Bean Soup
  5. Bandung

I even scrapped the vegetable salad I intended to make because it was running late and I figured no one would miss the greens for a meal. It’s not worthwhile doing it if it means getting harried, flustered and unable to enjoy my guests afterward.

A sensible preparation plan also helped a lot on that day.

  1. I seasoned the chicken wings the night before with store-bought tom yum paste. It’s meant for making soup but it worked just as well with the wings! Finger-licking good, I mean it.
  2. Cook the red bean soup hours earlier and leave it aside in a thermal cooker. It continues cooking and keeps the soup hot till whenever, perfect!
  3. Prepare the macaroni salad and refrigerate. Basically, it’s just cooking the macaroni then mixing in cans of condensed milk, cream and cocktail fruits. Easy right?
  4. Mix rose syrup with UHT milk and refrigerate.
  5. Slice salmon and peaches and refrigerate.
  6. Bake the first batch of wings about an hour before guests are due.
  7. Prepare the pizza when guests arrive since it takes only 10 minutes in the oven. Then continue with chicken wings.

When the girls came over, all I had to do was simply bring the food and drinks out and return to the kitchen for top-ups. Easy peasy! It was the first time I had time to eat at my own party.

One response »

  1. Pingback: it’s been a happening week but i’m back! « Everyday

Leave a Reply

