loving husband, loving friends

Standard

God reinforced the importance of my first mission as a wife this morning. In fact, he laid it down in stark terms: As a follower of Christ, I am to hate all other relationships in order to love my husband first.

In Luke 14:26, Jesus spoke in no unclear terms that “if anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple.”

Jesus was speaking in comparison language, “hate” being a Semitic term for “loving less”. He meant that if anyone wants to be his disciple, then they can’t love anyone more than  they love him. And since loving Jesus means obeying his commandments (John 14:21), then I must be unapologetic about obeying Titus 2.

That’s a great encouragement for when I’m feeling lousy about letting my friends down, or when I’m missing their company (which is often) because of family commitments. It’s actually a legitimate biblical thing that I love my friend less than I love my husband.

One response »

Leave a Reply

