Christ is here now!

Standard

Yesterday I was reminded that Christ, having been resurrected, now goes through every minute of every day with me. He is the great high priest through whom I have access by faith into this grace in which I now stand. (Romans 5:2) But he doesn’t just do his high priestly thing above in heaven; he is also right here with me to help me live life rightly.

In 1 Corinthians 3.16, Paul puts it this way: “Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?”

Do you know how amazing it is we can be God’s temple?

When Solomon built the magnificent temple (1 Kings 6ff)– a house for the name of God — in Old Testament time, he said in his prayer of dedication, “But will God indeed dwell on the earth? Behold, heaven and the highest heaven cannot contain you; how much less this house that I have built!” (1 Kings 8:27)

And then in New Testament time, Jesus said, referring to his resurrection: “Destroy this temple and I will raise it up in three days.” (John 2:19) He could say that because he, the Son of God, was the perfect and supreme display of God’s name. Jesus fulfilled and replaced the temple which Solomon built.

And now, us. Just us! Yet God considers us his temple and gives his Spirit to dwell in us.

If that doesn’t give me courage to be a wife, I don’t know what will.

Leave a Reply

