love needs an identity

Standard

Out of the many ways there are to love my husband, I consistently practice only some, and I am good at even fewer. My finiteness as a created being sets limits on my capacity to love and serve my husband. It can be pretty overwhelming then to think about all the ways I’m not loving him. It feels like when you have worked hard all day to tick off just 1 out of 100 items on a to-do list.

So it was a great comfort to me when I prayed and concluded last night:

My one and greatest desire is to see Graham grow to know and love God more. And my one and only hope is to see God’s mercy upon his life everyday.

Identifying my desire takes away the confusion. Identifying my hope takes away the anxiety. And hopefully, these should help me identify what are the unique ways I can best love my husband.

Leave a Reply

