If God is God then who am I? Not God.

Standard

What would you do if your husband is doing something he doesn’t enjoy? If he’s doing it because no one else will? When even he admits that perhaps he doesn’t have the “gift” or “a thing” for it?

And I agreed. “You are a godly man and a wonderful husband, but maybe you are not suitable for this role.”

I don’t enjoy saying that. And I don’t know what we should do.

When Mary was told that her little baby would be the Saviour of the world, she “treasured up all these things, pondering them in her heart”. (Luke 2:19) Mary had no quick way of knowing what would eventually happen to Jesus but she simply took note of what God revealed, one thing at a time.

It’s a beautiful verse for me because it shows an inward mindfulness of God’s work.

Maybe it’s one of those times when being my husband’s helper means I don’t actually do anything but be still and know that God is God (Psalm 46:10).

Leave a Reply

