a powerless sacrifice

Standard

Without the unique sacrifice of Jesus on the cross, all sacrifices in marriage are powerless.

At times my husband would say some careless words (yes, arghh!) which makes me feel unappreciated. That’s a strong temptation to discontent and bitterness for me. “Why should I try my best to be your helper when you don’t value me?”

Two different groups of people who lived 2000 years ago helped me to answer that sort of question.

The first group was the ordinary Jewish folks, the other the religious authorities of the day. They had one demand of Jesus on the cross: If you are God, prove it by saving yourself.

And those who passed by derided him, wagging their heads and saying, “You who would destroy the temple and rebuild it in three days, save yourself! If you are the Son of God, come down from the cross.

So also the chief priests, with the scribes and elders, mocked him, saying, “He saved others; he cannot save himself. He is the King of Israel; let him come down now from the cross, and we will believe in him. He trusts in God; let God deliver him now, if he desires him. For he said, ‘I am the Son of God.’” (Matthew 27:39-43)

Nobody expects God to die for man!

But Jesus did just that. Precisely because he is the Son of God and the King of Israel, he would not come down from the cross and save himself. He died the death we ought to die so that we may live.

How then can I consider my life worth anything? I am powerless in myself to constantly make the kind of sacrifices being a wife demands. But it helps to remember this: It is not too great a thing to give my life for my family, when Jesus gave his for me.

One response »

  1. keep going serene! (: if this project doesn’t remind and encourage yourself (which i’m sure it very much is already), at least it will me! 😛

Leave a Reply

