I love my husband because I love Christ

Standard

Day 2 and I’m still blogging! I have not given up. Are you still with me though?

Today I will attempt to, from the passage in Titus 2, bring my purposes into sharper focus. Why is being a godly wife worth the effort of training myself to love my husband?

In Titus 2, Paul is telling Titus to teach proper living which “accords with sound doctrine”. This passage says three things:

  1. So that the word of God would not be reviled (v5)
  2. So that no one would have anything evil to say of me (v8)
  3. So that I may adorn the doctrine of God our Saviour (v10)

Impressive reasons, those are. I just can’t imagine living up to it. The last one did leave an impression though — I have the chance to make the gospel look good? Incredible! I can scarcely make myself look good.

What God essentially says is: You know the gospel, now live according to it and you will make the gospel attractive to people. And no one would be able to say that God’s word is irrelevant or ineffective. And the worst that people could say of me is “Stupid woman. Why is she giving up her life for a man?”

But Paul said :

However I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me–the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace. (Acts 20:24)

The same task is given to us all. While the apostle completed it by preaching and teaching, I  complete it by loving my husband (among other things) as God instructs.

I love my husband because I love Christ.

Leave a Reply

